MGGA Sets Policy and Elects Officers​

For immediate release
December 6, 2021

MGGA Sets Policy and Elects Officers​

Great Falls – Montana Grain Growers Association wrapped up their 66th Annual Convention & Tradeshow. Members set the organization’s policy for 2022 and also elected new officers.
Tryg Koch, Kalispell, was elected to serve as the President.

“I’m hoping to bridge the gap between suits and ties on the hill and the boots on the ground in agriculture! We need to fully understand how the two work side by side, while one grows the food and the other one keeps and implements safety nets.” Tryg Koch, President of MGGA stated. “Both need each other in order to keep Montana producers in the business of growing some of the highest quality grain in the country!” Koch added.

Nathan Keane, Loma will serve as Vice President; Boyd Heilig, Moore will serve as Treasurer; and Klayton Lohr, Shelby, was selected to serve as the Secretary. Mitch Konen, Fairfield will serve a year as Past President.

“I’m thrilled to see Klayton come on board as our new officer. His Great Uncle, Ray Lohr was on the founding board of MGGA in 1956.” Alison Vergeront, Executive Vice President with MGGA stated. “With his passion for agriculture and experiences from Farm Bureau and US Durum Growers, we look forward to seeing Klayton go through our leadership chairs.” Vergeront added.

Re-elected for a second four-year term on the MGGA Board of Directors are Steve Sheffels, Great Falls and Trevor Wolery, Rudyard.

Newly elected Directors include Chase Brady, Fairfield, District 5 and Dustin Mathiason, Fallon, District 14.


The Montana Grain Growers Association is a commodity specific organization representing the interests of Montana wheat and barley growers. We use the contacts and experience gained over the past 60+ years to affect the laws, regulations and rules that we farm by. We are recognized as an influential commodity organization in our state and country and we use that influence to make things happen.