Winifred-Asbjornson Plant Sciences Chair

Recognizing that the depth of research at Montana State University must expand to meet current and future crop science challenges, leaders of the Montana Grains Foundation partnered with the MSU Alumni Foundation to perpetually endow the first Chair in the 120 year history of the College of Agriculture. More than 60 Montana grain producers, along with the Foundation, the Montana Grain Growers Association, the Montana Wheat & Barley Committee and several agribusinesses around the state donated in support of the endowed chair.

Three candidates for the Plant Science Endowed Chair were interviewed at MSU on August 6, 10 and 11, 2021.  Stay tuned for more info!


  • Background Information
  • Donate Online  – MSU Alumni Foundation donor page; please indicate your gift is for the Plant Sciences Chair
  • Montana Endowment Tax Credit – Contributions to this endowment by individuals, corporations, small business corporations, partnerships, and limited liability companies are eligible for the METC.